Manila Bulletin writers win honors in Palanca Awards

Manila Bulletin, Sept. 2, 2008 (Headline page)

Two journalists from the Manila Bulletin Publishing Corporation bagged top prizes in the 2008 Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, which held its awarding ceremonies at the Peninsula Manila Hotel yesterday.

Edgar S. Godin, associate editor of Bisaya Magazine, won 2nd prize in the Maikling Kuwento-Cebuano category while Ariel Tabag, entertainment editor of Bannawag Magazine, bagged 2nd prize in the Maikling Kuwento-Iluko.

Bisaya and Bannawag are among the Bulletin’s leading regional language publications.

Godin, a first-time Palanca winner, submitted his winning piece titled "Bingo", a discussion of society by different characters with various concerns while playing the popular bingo game.

Other winners in the Maikling Kuwento-Cebuano category include Macario Tiu, who took the 1st place award, and Lilia Tio who bagged third prize honors.

"I really didn’t expect to win. It is really an honor. A Palanca award is the highest possible award any Filipino writer can get," Godin said.

Tabag, on the other hand, is a previous Palanca winner, also in the Maikling Kuwento-Iluko. His winning piece, "Littugaw", narrates a day in the life of a Filipino priest.

Other winners in the category are Danilo Antalan who won first prize, and Aurelio Agcaoili who placed third.

Last night’s awarding ceremony had for its guest speaker Department of Education Secretary Jesli Lapus, whose presence gave emphasis to the importance of education in the crafting of literary masterpieces.

Now on in its 58th year, the Palanca Awards remains one of the most prestigious and sought-after literary awards in the Philippines, with this year’s roster of winners almost equally distributed among Palanca veterans (57%) and first- time winners (43%).

Established in 1950 to honor Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the award aims to help develop Philippine literature for writers to craft their most outstanding literary work; to be a treasury of the Philippines’ literary gems from our gifted writers; and to assist in its dissemination to the public, especially the students.

For more information, visit the Palanca Awards website at http://www.palancaawards.com.ph/.

The following is this year’s complete roster of winners:

Filipino Division

Maikling Kuwento
1st – Maria Lucille Roxas (Game Show), 2nd – Lemuel E. Garcellano (Anghel Kalahig), 3rd – Rommel B. Rodriguez (Kabagyan).

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
1st – No Winner, 2nd – April Jade B. Imson (Si Karding at ang Buwaya), 3rd – Allan Alberto N. Derain (May Tatlong Kurimaw)

1st – Jing Panganiban Mendoza (Ang Pagbabalik ng Prinsesa ng Banyera), 2nd – Michael M. Coroza (Ang Mabuhay Singers at Ako sa Pag-awit at Pag-ibig), 3rd – Eugene Y. Evasco (Agaw-buhay)

Kabataan Sanaysay
1st – No Winner, 2nd – No Winner, 3rd – Allen D. Yuarata (Nang Dumating si Joe)

1st – Mikael de Lara Co (Ang Iba’t-ibang Ngalan ng Hangin), 2nd – Renato L. Santos (Sari-saring Salaghati… (At good-bye-my-kangkungan), 3rd – Niles Jordan Breis ("Rubrica" mga lakbay nilay at pagbubunyag)

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st – Floy C. Quintos (Ang Kalungkutan ng mga Reyna), 2nd – Debbie Ann Tan (Teroristang Labandera), 3rd – Allan B. Lopez (Masaganang Ekonomiya)

Dulang Pampelikula
1st – Emmanuel A. Dela Cruz/ Michiko Yamamoto (1434456 – "The Singalong Singhs"), 2nd – Dennis Marasigan (Joy), 3rd – Alfred Aloysius Adlawan (Padyak)

Dulang Ganap ang Haba
1st – No Winner, 2nd – No Winner, 3rd – No Winner

Regional Division

Maikling Kuwento – Cebuano
1st – Macario D. Tiu (Tsuru), 2nd – Edgar S. Godin (Bingo), 3rd – Lilia Tio (Sapatos)

Maikling Kuwento — Hiligaynon
1st – Leoncio P. Deriada (And Pagbalik sang Babaylan), 2nd – Alice Tan Gonzales (Dawata, Anak), 3rd – Marcel Milliam (Bitay)

Maikling Kuwento — Iluko
1st – Danilo Antalan (Dangilen), 2nd – Ariel Tabag (Littugaw), 3rd – Aurelio Agcaoili (Alegoria Uno)

English Division

Short Story
1st – Ian Fermin Rosales Casocot (Things You Don’t Know), 2nd – Tara FT Sering (Good People), 3rd – Nadine L. Sarreal (Night Sounds)

Short Story for Children
1st – Celestine Marie G. Trinidad (The Storyteller and the Giant), 2nd – No Winner, 3rd – Kathleen Aton-Osias (The Mapangarap and the Dream Trees)

1st – Jose Claudio B. Guerrero (Talking to a Fu Dog on a Wedding Afternoon), 2nd – Katrina Stuart Santiago (Mirrors), 3rd – Jhoanna Lynn Cruz (Sapay Coma)

Kabataan Essay
1st – Miro Frances Dimaano Capili (Rated X), 2nd – Cristina Gratia F. Tantengco (Things that Lie Beyond the Postcards), 3rd – Elfermin Manalansan Mallari, Jr. (The Roads and Dreams that Meander)

1st – Francis C. Macansantos (Morphic Variations), 2nd – Anna Maria Katigbak (Sl(e)ights), 3rd – Marie La Viña (The Gospel According to the Blind Man)

One-Act Play
1st – Maria Clarissa N. Estuar (Anybody’s Revolution), 2nd – Percival Intalan (Secret Identities), 3rd – Joachim Emilio B. Antonio (Newspaper Dance)

Full-Length Play
1st – Peter Solis Nery, 2nd – No Winner, 3rd – No Winner

Grand Prize Winners
Nobela: Norman Wilwayco (Gerilya)
Novel: Grand Prize – Miguel Syjuco (Ilustrado).--

No comments: